Report Round 5

India Fights Back to Wall in Round 5


On the top Board Former (U-20) World Champion GM Lu Shanglei adopted the solid two Knigts system against Caro-Kann Defence of Indian GM Aravind Chithambaram Vr. After the 15th move both the players had equal chances. However, the Indian GM weaked his e6 square and a2-g8 diagonal, by pushing his pawn f7 to f5.  After trading pieces with regular interval, Arvind had Queen and Knight and six pawns against Queen, Bishop and six pawns of Lu Shanglei with skillful play he broke through and forced to exchange Queens with two extra pawns, where upon, Arvind resigned on 46th move.

The match between Aryan Chopra Vs Xu Xiangyu was a Sicilian Najdrof, English attack variation, where the home work of the Chinese of GM gave him little better game. Nevertheless, Aryan played coolly and after exchange of Queens, centralised his King. With a timely pawn break, Aryan forced a drawn Rook and pawn ending to share a valuable half points.

Grand Master Murali Karthikeyan put his faith on Nimzo-Indian Defence against Bai Jinshi’s classical system. After early exchange of Queens Bai Jinshi appeared to have upper hand. However, Murali played logically and solidly to equalise. After a long fought battle of five hours both the compatriots had one minor piece each without any pawn and drew their game.

Game of the Round was played by GM Srinath Narayan, who brilliantly accounted for Chinese GM Xu Yinglun in a Sicilian game, full of fire works. Srinath started pawn storm on the King side, met a thematic and timely pawn advance on d5. However, Srinath was in a very aggressive mood and chanelised his heavy pieces against monarch of Xu Yinglun who cracked under pressure. The brilliant pawn thrust of f5 , demolished the resistance of the Chinese GM, who resigned on 36th move.

Results of Fifth Round

China 2 – 2 India

1 China 2 –2  2 India
1 W GM Lu Shanglei 2635 beat B GM Aravindh Chithambaram Vr. 2579
2 B GM Xu Xiangyu 2577 drew with W GM Aryan Chopra 2541
3 W GM Bai Jinshi 2566  drew with B GM Karthikeyan Murali 2604
4 B GM Xu Yinglun 2533  lost to W GM Narayan  Srinath 2565


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *